

## 27 January 2025



## **Australia Day Awards 2025**

On Australia Day 2025, communities across the Warrumbungle local government area came together to "Reflect, Respect and Celebrate" what's great about our country, our local communities and some outstanding local achievers.

Councillors joined community members and the visiting Australia Day Ambassadors at events across the local government area. Warrumbungle Shire Council Mayor, Councillor Kathryn Rindfleish, attended events in Binnaway, Baradine and Coolah.

"It was great to attend some of the local events and celebrate Australia Day with so many people in our communities", said Cr Rindfleish. "As part of the celebrations, I and the other councillors, were pleased to present some very worthy recipients with Warrumbungle Shire Council Australia Day Awards for 2025."

Cr Rindfleish said, "we had many high-quality nominations for this year's awards and the Australia Day Selection Committee was challenged in making the final choices."

The recipients of the 2025 Warrumbungle Shire Council Australia Day Awards were:

Citizen of the Year

Ted Hayman (Baradine)

**Senior Citizen of the Year** 

Geoffrey Gasior (Coonabarabran)

**Environmental Citizen of the Year** 

Malcom and Laura Hartley (Coonabarabran)

**Cultural Achievement Award** 

Coonabarabran High School Musical Production Team for 'Legally Blonde' Musical (Coonabarabran) Young Citizen of the Year

Kurt Rutter (Coonabarabran)

Young Sportsperson of the Year

Evie Matthews (Baradine)

**Community Event of the Year** 

Coolah Veteran Touch Football Carnival (Coolah)

Young Environmental Citizen of the Year

Ava Harley (Coonabarabran)

"These awards are a great opportunity to celebrate the things we most value about our local communities and recognise people for their outstanding achievements and contributions. I would like to take this opportunity to again congratulate not only the award recipients, but all the nominees," concluded Cr Rindfleish.

Media: Ngaire Stevens | (02) 6849 2000